Visit our Sponsors

Important Dates

May 1, 2017
Submitted Talks Deadline
May 8, 2017
Submitted Talks decisions made
June 23, 2017
Scholarship Application Deadline
Upgraded Poster Submission Deadline
July 10, 2017
Hotel booking deadline (SMASH rate)
July 14, 2017
Scholarship and Upgraded Poster decisions made
July 31, 2017
Poster Abstract Submission Deadline
Late Registration Begins
($50.00 USD Late Fee)
September 15, 2017
Registration closes

SMASH 2017 Conference

SMASH Program Download (PDF)

Pose questions to the workshop chairs here

General Information

SMASH is a scientific meeting highlighting Small Molecule NMR research and applications, held in alternating years between North America and Europe

This years conference will be held at the Grand Hotel Dino in Baveno, Italy from Sunday 17th through Wednesday 20th, September 2017.


If you want to learn the latest NMR methods, find new applications for the technology or meet the movers and shakers in the field, SMASH is the place to do it.

  • Fantastic science - SMASH showcases the latest developments in NMR methodology and their applications in cutting-edge industrial settings. World-leading scientists and industry experts discuss the latest challenges and solutions in our field.
  • Academia meets Industry - SMASH brings together the leading scientists from academia and industry in one international meeting. If you want to cross the boundaries between research and application – SMASH has the people you need to be talking to.
  • Networking and Employment - The meeting is highly social with plenty of opportunities for mixing and meeting the top spectroscopists and perhaps your future employers. Annual attendees include representatives from small through to multinational healthcare, nutrition, oil and gas, specialist chemical and coatings industries as well as leading NMR hardware and software companies: Akzonobel, Takeda, Ajinomoto, BASF, GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer, Petrobras, AstraZeneca, Amgen, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Novartis, Roche, Genentech, Actelion, Merck, Lilly, Bayer, Abbvie, Nestle, ExxonMobil, Johnson & Johnson and many more.

Program Co-Chairs

Tim Claridge, University of Oxford, UK
Tim Claridge
University of Oxford, UK
Gary Sharman, Eli Lilly and Company, UK
Gary Sharman
Eli Lilly and Company, UK